People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Globalization is an unstoppable, irreversible process that has allowed people from all over the world the possibility to travel, study abroad and progress in life because has increased a vast number of opportunities in a reasonable and fair manner. That is, with such development, students from all social origins can study in universities and colleges for a variety of reasons or motives and they can decide their priorities according their necessities and motivations. While some students think that college or university is only a privilege for smarter peers, others think that this chance is for everybody who want to succeed, and the only thing that you need is to put a tinny effort. In my opinion, studying in a college or university level is a wonderful opportunity, whether you want to succeed as a professional, be more knowledgeable or simply have new or better experiences in life. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, universities and colleges are centers for professional development and career preparation that allow future peers to succeed in life. So, people who decide to take this path will endure in a ride of hard work and failures, but also a great experience and professional satisfaction. Nowadays, universities have a lot of tools and resources that students can take advantage off for their development as future professionals, for example career fairs and events. Furthermore, professors are more competent and trained, and technology play a crucial role in the long run. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I remember some years ago when I went to FIU to start my career in the pharmacy field. Since I had the chance to visit many career fairs, my passion for this profession increased immensely because I received a lot of support from teachers and advisors. In addition, I had the opportunity to share my own experience with freshman students once I reached my last year in college. It was an amazing experience and I feel very grateful for this big opportunity because my love and success for the pharmacy profession increased thanks to the orientation, inspiration and help I found there.

Secondly, another advantage of studying at a university level is that your knowledge and respect as a professional will increase with years of experience and hard work. As a result, chances to be accepted in a profession will increase with the help of a good resume and a recommendation letter from your professors and classmates. Although being a university student can be stressful and sometimes you want to give up because off too many studies, your desire of succeed should take precedence over your fears. For example, I remember feeling a lot of pressure when I was in my last year at FIU. With so many classes and my thesis going on at the same time, sometimes I felt fainting or giving up because it was too much. But the more you keep studying and trying hard, the more gratifying is going to be at the end. In addition, the more knowledge and experience you can acquire, the more possibilities of succeeding you will have in your professional development, and this is the main reason why students should try to experience the university life. At the end of my college years, I was hired as a pharmacist for a pharmacy chain, a profession that I deeply respect because patient’s safety and wellbeing are my priorities. Moreover, I am sure other students will respect it as well because a university student is entitled to pursue his or her dreams, be more proactive, more knowledgeable, with strong opinions and decisions and should take good care of the community where they live and work. That is what made us to be respected.

To conclude, I strongly believe that students should attend college or university. This is because universities are great places for professional and personal preparation where you can enrich your knowledge as a student and as a human being and succeed.