People behavior has changed over time. Many years ago, young people used to obey rules from their parents but this dependence has changed. Currently, students make decisions by themselves without consulting opinions from other. Therefore, I personally believe that young people are better prepared for real life. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, according to several psychology studies when people have more responsibilities, they are better in making decisions since they have acquired new experience from situations in this state of independence. By doing activities by themselves, people form their personality and consequently, they become more efficient not only generating ideas but also giving advice. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was studying at university, I used to live alone. In the beginning, this situation was complicated for me since I did not have experience in administrating properly my resources. There were some days when the money that my parent sent me was not enough to even when I supposedly spent less money. Nevertheless, this reality changed over time. The more responsibilities people have, the better prepared for overcoming problems. When I acquired more experience, I could administrate the money efficiently even there were some weeks in which I could save money. Two years later with the money saved I could buy a motorcycle in order to get the university.

Secondly, nowadays there are more students who are able to make a decision easily because in some school students are required to take a course which involves teaching students how to react in some circumstances and how to solve some problems. One of the topics of this subject is critical thinking which provides students with tools for not only making the best choice but also to reduce the consequences of this decision. For instance, my cousin who is 14 years old, now is taking this course at high school. In his childhood, he struggled with some situations because he did not know how to overcome it even when this circumstance involves toys or simple activities. But with this new course, he now is able to analyze first the problem and then to determine the possible solutions with taking into account the effects of each option. The other day, he had a problem with one of his friends, but it could be solved by having a conversation which was organized by himself.

In conclusion, I strongly consider that young people are even more prepared for making a decision than old people because they have more information available from school and because their responsibility may help them form their personality.