People in daily lives would frequently do the jobs that need creativity, such as the job you have never done before. Under this circumstance, do you prefer to work alone or work with others?

Nowadays, People need to cooperate with others closely in order to achieve big dreams, especially when challenging something new. Even through some people argue that working alone can bring many benefits, from my perspective of view, I definitely choose to work with others when it comes to the innovative tasks, simply because a group of people is equal to a basket of ideas and nobody would be easily distracted.

To begin with, brain storm is an efficient way to work out, if possible, revolutionary solutions, since everyone could share his unique viewpoint based on his previous experiences. Everything we know and we understand is based on our prior knowledge and experiences. Thus, various personal background results in thinking in different ways, which leads that everyone could participate in the discussion and broaden awareness from diverse aspects. Let me take one of my personal experiences to illustrate this. Last time, I was asked to finish an essay on a completely new topic of artificial intelligence. I joint a group as soon as I realized that its demands could not be fulfilled perfectly by myself. During the group discussion, one of group members, Oliver, analyzed the problem from a business angle, and I claimed my point from the theological perspective. Each member made some tiny but indispensable contributions. Our work eventually got high praise from the professor. Had I not chosen to work with others, my outcome could not be satisfied.

What's more, working with group members could keep us from being distracted. There is no denying that individual studies could offer the students more freedom, and they could also turn to the Internet for information assistance without disturbing others. However, students seem to be overconfident about their self-management. Most of the time, when the students are studying alone, they generally fall asleep quickly or are easily distracted by the twitters, Facebook messages or new posts on Instagram, especially when they have no idea to such a new task. They simply sit in front of the desk but do not absorb even a single word from the text. Things would be quite different when students are working in groups. They have to listen to others carefully, take notes quickly and discuss with others fiercely in order to produce the best outcome of the work. Everyone is working so hard that if we are distracted, a sense of guilt or embarrassment would rise because other teammates would consider us as free-riders.

Admitting that teammates’ perspectives contradict with each other frequently, since nobody can provide any direct experience for the new task, resulting in consuming amounts of time and energy. Collaboration may produce a reverse influence, if some people stick to their own way of thinking or refute others impolitely. Nevertheless, plausible as it sounds, the idea does not hold water. Innovation needs the collision of minds, and only when people with divergent education background gather together can they work out issues they have never mediated before. For instance, scientists and financiers integrated computer technology with finance to create robot advisors, a totally new assistant for investment.

Hence, working in a group can benefit us a lot from at once offering diverse ideas based on personal experiences and focusing on the project with a high efficiency. Even though tiny collision is unavoidable, it is still an essential part to stimulate innovation.