People in the past are more interested in improving their neighborhood (the area where they live) than now

That people have a great tendency to improve the area where they reside is an axiom. However, this preference has changed over the time greatly due to various reasons. A question, which is a matter of debate, a controversial one, is whether people in the past were more avid in improving their neighborhood than today’s people. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I am, to a great extent on the belief that people in the past took part in enhancing their neighborhood more than today’s generation. The following reasons would elaborate more on the thesis.

To commence, one of the compelling reasons that justifies the thesis is that rarely do today’s people have enough time to participate in such activities. To put it in general words, fulfilling extravagant cost of subsistence requires great deal of time which prevent them from participating in improving their neighborhoods. Simply stated, since life in the past was much more simple than today, past generation had abundant time to improving their surroundings. Going into the depth, today’s hectic life prevents people from concentrating on their surrounding environment even they are eager to enhance the quality of the area in which they reside. Needless to say that, the fact that people in the past should not have worked for long hours in a day provides them the chance to improve their neighborhoods. To shed more light on the issue, according to the result of the study posted in Time Magazine, findings of the ancient towns indicates that people in the past was more concerned about the outside design of their house than today’s people.

Alongside with the first reason elaborated above, the fundamental paradigm shift in the people’s interest in another point which requires meticulous attention. To clarify, the concerns and interests of the people have been altered over the periods of time. Broadly speaking, each time period has its own attractions; that being so, it is not farfetched that people’s interest has shifted over the time. To delineate, not having access to today’s technologies such as the Internet, people in the past gravitated toward other activities to have fun. On the contrary, as the age of information explosion has initiated, today’s people are detached from their surrounding since they expend most of their time with the high technologies. It is all transparent that, intrigued by assorted priorities of the specific time, people opt for the one in which they are more interested. However, what I mentioned above might not be overgeneralized to all contexts. Today, there are some people with artistic spirit which promotes them to make their surrounding beautiful. Nevertheless, they are more of an exception rather than a general rule.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded from the general rule, I do agree that people in the past were more enthusiastic to improve their neighborhoods. To recapitulate the reasons, not only did they have more free time to participate in these activities, but also improving their surrounding was among their interests unlike today.