People today are much better informed about international news than they were in the past

I believe we both get to know more about international news and have a better understanding of what is happening. Means of communication have improved a lot compared to what they used to be, and we have never been as eager to share or watch news as today.

Development of mass printing technologies and the invention of newspaper has already been a choice of cheap and instant news for over a century. Modern telecommunication system made radio, TV and the Internet possible, which delivers news with almost no delay, no matter how far away it took place. On the other hand, if not fulfilled by paper and screen, one could always take a trip to where it happened if time permits. Thanks to advanced methods of transportation nowadays, jets and high-speed railways have made such an option viable.

News providers are motivated by globalization and international tourism. Countries establish state-owned or semi-public news agencies to share local news and help boost tourism among foreigners, or post views on various issues to gaining advantages during diplomatic tensions or disputes by attracting viewers from other countries and getting them more familiar with the country, thus more likely to stand on the same side. Companies find setting up private press departments more and more lucrative since it helps with promoting overseas sales of their goods and services and downplaying PR issues after an incident.

Besides changes on delivery and production of news, readers have evolved as well. Thanks to the general availability of public education, most of the time we already have some basic knowledge on the historical and political background of an area before hearing about a piece of news happening there. More importantly, the global market puts pressure on investors and people with jobs linked to a certain field to put effort in grasping latest news about it, whether domestic or international, in order to keep up and survive instead of getting outdated and falling behind.

Frankly speaking, among all kinds of information we receive every day, international news is definitely not as indispensable as the price of goods or changes to our salary. The fact that we hear more and better about such news is due to factors of cost-effectiveness and motivation. Without modern technology we could never receive them efficiently enough that we don't lose interest when they are not directly related to us. And we have to partly rely on international news in order to secure our jobs and/or consumers.