People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

A glance at people attitude toward career brings to light a question that has provoked a discussion several times, that is, whether people work because of money or other factors influence their decision. More than five decades ago, people continued their family vocations because they had learnt a lot of information and skill about it. There was not any other opportunity for them to choose their careers. In contrast, modern people in this century face with a lot of career’s options and the money is not a big factor to work. Definitely, we cannot ignore the effect of money but satisfaction and intrinsic sociality of human kinds are two other reasons.

The foremost reason why people work lies in the fact that they want to be part a group and society. This need is met when they work in a friendly environment and participate in activities which make them closer. If a person cannot find a good job, he is more prone to mental diseases such as anxiety and depression. A recent study at Harvard University shows that employees who earn decent salaries but suffers from frantic boss have depression in higher rate than people who get lower salaries with kind manager. In this context, another study states that it is more possible that people abandon their jobs when their work environment is dictatorial even if income is high. Thus, social aspect of work is a determinant factor.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that each person has different talent and skill and enjoy spending time on it. For example, physicians earn the highest salaries in USA but it is not interesting for a lot of people to see blood and fracture every day. It is clear that the only reason make a person to enter medical school and tolerate night shifts and sleeplessness is love. As a student in business school I believe it is really hard to devote all of your weekends to work on courses’ assignments and understand the concept of each lecture while not confuse them. But I really enjoy getting out of my comfort zone and struggle with new mathematics questions. I feel more usefulness this way even without an excellent salary.

Admittedly, we can count employment health insurance and Medicare benefits as minor reasons. It is difficult to pay off medical bills without insurance assistant, and a great insurance plan sponsored by employer is a positive effect. However, it is not very persuasive to think that people continue or discontinue to work because of health insurance. I still assert that the two former reasons are more determinant.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I believe that people need to be satisfied internally and be useful for society. In addition, an amiable work environment makes life happier and better.