People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons.

We spend 40 years on average working for one or more jobs to feed our family and to provide shelter, education, and healthcare for our family. A study conducted in the early 2000s showed that most of us do not like our day to day job but we continue the daily job because we need the money to live. Although most of us are just working to survive some works for different reasons such as love for a subject or to create a positive impact on society.

While the majority of the population does not enjoy what they study in their school/college some do and their love for the subject carries them forward in life. They enrich the subject they study. One of my closest friends loved studying physics since childhood and he received job offers from Bell Labs and JP Morgan Chase after his graduation. Although the JPMC job offered a significantly high salary he still chose Bell Labs because he loved what he did. For him enjoying his daily job was much more important than an astronomical bank balance.

Another part of the population works to make a dent in the universe. Their goal is to perform a task, not necessarily difficult, that creates a significant impact throughout society. One such notable person was Steve Jobs. He revolutionized mobile phones, personal computers, and the tape-recorder industry. These are the people who care less about their priorities and even lesser about money. Their sole priority is to make this world a better place. More often than not they leave the world in much better shape than they found it.

Money is a necessary component for our society and most of us work to earn money but there still remain a significant number of people who are working for numerous other reasons. Broadly they can be classified into the two groups we discussed above.