What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities changed or remained the same over time in your culture?

I am from India and I believe that important qualities of a good child have changed slightly over the years. Previously, parents in my community valued love, respect and obedience the most but now as we are moving towards a more progressive society obedience is getting replaced by independence.

Love is the most important potion of all. Without love there will be no family. The quality most valued by parents was and still remains unconditional love. In the childhood love is spontaneous but as we grow older the loving child gets replaced by the caring son/ daughter. As parents become older they look for that caring son or daughter, who will support him/her in his/hers final days. I still remember the smile in my grandmothers face when my father combed her hair at night. Something beyond the realm of reality, so peaceful and magical.

Respect and love goes side by side. Unconditional love comes from complete respect and care for a person. Unlike love respect is not inherent to our value system. It grows or diminishes depending on which environment we live in. Parents take lots of different decisions when they raise a child not all of those decisions turns out to be correct. Parents are most satisfied when their child respects their decision even when its completely wrong. This mutual respect helps the parents to amend their mistakes. Take Rahul's father for example every time Rahul disrespected him for some wrong decision he tended to hold onto that decision ferociously but when Rahul respectfully disagreed with him they quickly reached to a mutual solution of the problem.

Obedience was extremely valued in my society . Obedience dictates that even when your parents are wrong you blindly follow them, whereas mutual respect and independence leads you to respectfully challenge their ideas and rectify them when they are wrong . As we are moving towards a more modern society parents are willing to be rectified by their children. Social and economic independence reduced the burden from the parents to financially support their children even when they are adult.

Everyday we are growing as a society, what was unacceptable according to our grandfathers generation is now embraced by our parents and maybe when we become parents we will work towards accepting valuable inputs from our children and make this society a better place for all of us. While we evolve as the society mutual love and respect between parents and children remain the most important qualities