Profession athletes who receive high salaries, such as football and basketball player, deserve what they get

Many people think that it is unbelievable an athlete can get millions of dollars a year from sports club because they only show up on the stadium for an hour or much less time. However, this commonly accepted idea only note the surface phenomenon and ignore the reason behind. In my mind, those profession athletes achieving great success deserve a high salary as a reward.

Aside from genetics, it takes arduous work for sportspeople to make it to the top of their professions, regardless of their gender of age. To improve performance, dedicated athletes have undergone constant training, mostly from their childhood onward, and only enjoy a minimal amount of leisure time. Besides, they frequently have to put their body at risk and, even more frequently, cope with recurring psychological strain as a consequence of unusually stiff competition. Still, these incredible people simply don’t waver from their goals. In short, I would argue that all their commitment and sacrifices deserve abundant rewards, of which substantial sums of money may be just a token.

Besides, it is a massive expenditure for athletes to keep their body in top condition, such as strength, agility and endurance. LeBron James, the famous American professional basketball player for Los Angeles Lakers, eats eight times a day to support huge consumption in training, each dinner is carefully scheduled by his nutritionist. He spends about ten thousand dollars for food, let alone other costs on training, such as a doctor, psychologist and coach. The high salary can not be recognized as athletes’ net income, because they need much money to invest their body to compete with others and achieve good results. If we deduce the training cost from their salary, we will find they are paid much lower than what is published.

Finally, professional athletes promote the sports industry using their fame. For example, the famous football player David Beckham, his fame attracts fans to spend big money to buy tickets for his football games and products endorsed by him. The money from football fans makes it possible for sponsors to host sports events, such as the World Cup, which would make more people enjoy the charm of football by television or the Internet. Those people are potential contributors to the football industry, and they may become a football player or buy tickets for a competition someday. Profession athletes, audience and sports industry make up a positive circulation. Therefore, a high salary is arguably an insightful strategy for both professional athletes and sports industry.

In conclusion, the high salary for athletes is a reward for their hard work. Professional athletes’ income is not as much as we think, because they need to spend much money on training. Besides, the money spent on players would promote the development of sports industry.