People should buy things made in their own country, even if the price is higher than the same things made elsewhere

Nowadays, we are in the era of global economic globalization and we can buy commodities from different countries. Many people argue that we should support products that made in our own country as a consequence of patriotism, even though the price is higher than the same thing made in other countries. I think that there are many factors might determine a consumer’s choice, but none of these factors should be related to the place where the product is made.

For me, the golden standard to judge a product is its cost-effectiveness. If it has high quality and a relatively low price, it satisfies my expectation and is worth the money I spend. On the other hand, the nationality of the product is of little concern. In a globalized world, it is naive to believe that one product is entirely made in just one country. If we open up our smartphones, we would find components made in the US, China, South Korea, Japan, and so on. The division of international labor has determined most, if not all, consumer goods depend on the efforts of many, not just a single country. As a result, the notion that we need to buy domestic products sounds preposterous.

Second, any effort to boycott products made in other countries would backfire. Protectionism is the utmost barrier to free trade. Suppose the people in one country all refuse to buy imported products, other countries would have no intention to buy the products made in this country as well. With no trade going on, the economy of the country would suffer. Before opening up in the late 1970s, the Chinese economy had been stagnating for years largely because of its refusal to importing and exporting consumer goods. It was only after China had become an important buyer and manufacturer of international business that its economy began to take off.

Last but not least, every country has its edge in the production of certain products. As consumers, we should care more about how some of the products can meet our needs and facilitate our life rather than where it is produced. If a person with a low budget decides to buy a car, a Prius will sound more plausible than a Mustang but for another person who cares more about speed and horsepower, the latter is better. Goods made in all the countries are not mutually exclusive; rather, they should be traded freely to satisfy the demands of a variety of people with a wide range of penchants.

In a nutshell, the idea of only buying domestic goods is simply misleading and trouble-causing.