When your professor wants you to learn in a short time, which is better: working in a group or alone?

Learning efficiency, being closely related to knowledge accumulation, has been

valued and even triggers heated discussions over how to enable students to acquire sufficient knowledge within a short time. In order to boost efficiency, students, in some people’s views, should study alone. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that students, working in a group, can learn more efficiently, due to its contribution to more assistance and fewer errors.

What must be prioritized is that working in a group, rather than / compared with / instead of / not / unlike studying alone, students can help each other and learn efficiently, by providing more knowledge and sharing burdens. To begin with, students, studying in a group, can acquire knowledge. In detail, in a group, students can exchange opinions, experience and solutions / methods, during which they will obtain a large quantity of knowledge; on the other hand / on the contrary / conversely / in contrast / instead, when learning alone, students merely get limited knowledge.

Moreover, students in a group share their burdens. In detail, within a group / when working in a study group / in a team / with teamwork, different students will assume their responsibilities, including searching for information, solving problems and writing reports, and thus study efficiently; a student alone, conversely, have to cope with the whole task.

What should be equally worth discussing is that working in a group, compared with

dealing with tasks alone, can reduce errors and thus help students learn more

efficiently, since others can provide objective and comprehensive information. To

begin with, never can we ignore the fact that members in a group can offer objective

views. To explain it further, within a group, all people will present their opinions,

avoiding the situation where one personal view becomes dominant, and thus an

objective conclusion can be reached quickly; on the other hand, working alone, he

tends to be subjective and make more errors. To explain it further, it is people in a

group that will offer comprehensive information. To be more specific, a wide range of

information, in terms of the problem’s background, solutions and stakeholders, can be accessible, reducing the risks of committing errors; can people working alone access

comprehensive information and locate errors quickly?

Mutual assistance, essential in group work, can be reached, boosting the efficiency of

learning. Errors, avoided in a group, will be reduced, improving learning productivity.

To conclude, only by working in a group can students cope with tasks efficiently.