The purpose of television is to educate, not to entertain.

Throughout the history, human being’s lives have changed enormously since they have a tendency to improve their lives. TV programs would be an essential factor having remarkable effects on people's lives. While some people believe that the main purposes of TV programs are to educate, others hold exactly an opposite point of view and are convinced that its purposes should be entertain. In no way could I agree with the latter point. There are some reasons, the most outstanding of which will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, people are able to increase their knowledge, and also expand their horizon by watching a TV program. There is no doubt that television can play a significant role in awareness of people on account of the fact that, nowadays, almost all of the people are able to watch TV programs at their home. Moreover, although there are some programs with the purpose of entertain, what I am certain is that these programs are supposed to learn viewer by funny aspect. In fact, executive manager of TV programs using everything in order to expand people's horizon. An example will illustrate this viewpoint much better, there was a time that I caught a disease and had to stay in my bedroom. Then, my friend had suggested me that channel four show some documentaries, after that I could find a lot of thing about the history of my country. As a result, until this incident occurred could I realize the importance of TV program, for I do believe that had I not watched that documentary, I would not have increased my information about my country.

Furthermore, some people believe that TV should play some entertainment since people need to release their stresses and tensions after the stressful and boring day of school or job. On the other hand, some people believe that it is better for people that TV play some programs which teach useful things to people since some people could not afford to enroll in a workshop and private classes and it is a really cost-effective way of education. Hence I firmly agree with the latter point, for I do believe that the more TV show useful and informative programs, the more poor people are able to increase their knowledge. By way of illustration, based on a conducted researches in my country, a high percentage of prosperous people say that they could increase their knowledge when they watch TV Programs.

To make a long story short, no one can deny the enormous informative and instructive aspects of TV programs. Not only are they able to increase people's knowledge, but also they can provide an opportunity for poor people to expand their horizon without spending money. For this reason, were I be a determiner in our country, I would have invested a great deal of money on TV programs in order to increase people’s knowledge in a wide variety of fields.