Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that with new technologies education of the young generation becomes easier than in the past, but there are doubts about whether such a statement bears much truth. However, the opponents still challenge that position, stating that children spend too much time on cell phones and online games which makes the task of teaching them more challenging. While there is to consider and contrast between both fields of thought, I concur with the latter opinion. Still, this area deserves further speculation and scrutiny which I will delve into.

To begin with, when children spend much of their time on cell phones by watching entertainment videos and photos they learn to concentrate on the information no longer than a few minutes. On the other hand, education requires children to be able to concentrate on the material much longer than a few minutes to comprehend it, which means that cell phones learn kids the opposite habits which is needed for learning. In contrast, in the past, there were no cell phones and for adolescents, it was easier to learn to focus on studying for a long period. For example, my younger brother spends near three hours a day sitting in the cell phone where he watches different videos and chat with friends. Tremendously hard is it for him to learn not only because he thinks it is boring but also that every ten minutes he is distracted by cell phone. As a result, he has very low grades in the school and it is harder for him to learn. In comparison, when I was at school it was much easier for me to learn because I did not have a cell-phone. If he had not had the cell phone he would have learned better.

Furthermore, because there is a lot of video games which are fascinating children want to spend as much time playing them as possible which makes the process of education harder. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my brother's example. My sibling Andrew relishes to play Minecraft after school. Thrilled he was in such a way that he could play it for five hours a day. It means, that he almost did not accomplish home tasks and he had the lowest grades in his class. In contrast, when I was at school there were no computer games which means that I did not have such a powerful distractor factor in education. If my brother had been born a few decades earlier it would have been easier for him to learn.

In light of the aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe that because children spend too much time on cell phones and games educating them is a harder task than in the past. This is because not only that gadgets learn the opposite habits which are needed for education but also because they are more captivating than learning.