Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today's world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that it is better to work quickly and risk making mistakes rater tan work gradually, but there are doubts about whether such a statement bears much truth. However, the opponents still challenge that position, stating that even though in today's world everything is changing instantly, still the work should be done slowly and with the confidence that everything is correct. While there is much to consider and contrast between both fields of thought, I concur with the latter opinion and have two reasons for doing so. Still, this deserves further speculation and scrutiny, which I will delve into.

To begin, by working gradually, there is less chance to produce a mistake, which means that people save time and energy since they do not need to repeat the process. In contrast, when someone works faster, the possibility of mistake increases, and the one will be forced to repeat the process from the beginning by spending a double amount of time and energy. I have to admit that my example has profoundly influenced my opinion on this matter. When I was writing my dissertation in Physics, I needed to make a cumbersome calculations. Tremendously hard was it for me not only that they were very arduous but also that the deadline was in a few weeks, and I decided to make all calculations faster than usual. On the one hand, because I was spending less time and was in a rush, I was able to finish all the estimates in a week. On the other hand, I obtained the erroneous results and needed to revise all the calculations. Even though it took me blood, sweat, and tears to find the mistake by repeating all the estimates from the beginning, I still missed the deadline, and my grade was lower because of that. If I had not worked quickly, I would not have made the mistake and would not have missed the deadline.

Furthermore, by working slowly, there is less chance to make an irreversible mistake, which makes a person feel guilty and depressed. In other words, working gradually helps the person to get rid of negative emotions. My friend Andrew is a typical example. A few years ago, he was working at a printing house, where he was printing newspapers. One day he wanted to publish a double amount of papers for which he would get a higher salary. Even though he accomplished this task still before leaving the work, he found out that the sequence of pages in the publications was wrong. As a consequence, the papers were not released, and he needed to pay all the losses. Moreover, it costs him a few months wages, which makes him feel depressed. If he had not rushed, he would not have made a mistake and would not felt depressed.

In the light of the reasons mentioned above, I firmly believe that it is better to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct. This is because not only because it would save time and energy for not fixing the mistakes but also can help to get rid of the feeling of guilt and depression.