Question Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Compared to the past, people have moved to cities and lived separately from their parents due to rapid urbanization. While it becomes more common for young people to live independently from their parents, I believe the extended family still plays an important role in parenting and strengthening the family bond.

First, young parents need the help of their extended families because most parents are struggling with balancing parenting and working. While most women could focus on parenting and doing housework as housewives in the past, more women have to keep working to support their families even after they get married and have their children. Since they have problems finding enough time and energy to take care of their children and housework besides their jobs to do, they desperately need the support of their extended family. With the aid of their extended family, it is possible to save money to rely on baby sitters and after schools to take care of their children. Moreover, interacting with extended family can help children to feel secure at their homes, which enhances child development.

Second, the longer humans live, the more support they need from their families. Due to the advancement in medical and health care services, human longevity has greatly extended. Although human lifestyles have been more convenient and independent because of those changes, they still need close relationships with their extended families. Although it is possible to depend on hospitals and daycare services rather than their extended family for the elderly to receive medical supports as long as they can afford, engaging with the extended family would increase the family bonds and improve both their physical and mental health. Since society has focused on individualism, people are more vulnerable to isolation and seek chances to feel a sense of belonging. Therefore, the elderly also need a close relationship with their families even though they live far away from each other.

Despite those needs in the strong tie with extended families, the physical distance is indeed a great barrier for families to strengthen their bonds. Once children move to cities to go to college and to work, they are less likely to return and stay in their hometowns where their parents live. Because there is a huge gap in a job and educational opportunities between cities and rural areas, it would be hard for young people to prioritize living close to their extended families in their hometowns. However, extended families still carry a significant role in supporting their families despite the physical barrier because of those difficulties working parents and the elderly face.

In conclusion, I disagree that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past because the extended family can enrich life for working parents and the elderly by strengthening human connections.