Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

Travel in your own country can be a wonderful experience. With the boom of the economy traveling has become more and more affordable. The interaction with your culture you and the possibility to make friends close home are some of the advantages to consider. Traveling your own nation is more beneficial that going outside your land. I agree with this statement because if money and safety are your priorities, then domestic travel can mitigate the inconvenience of long flights, a potential language barrier and any financial difficulty you might encounter in your trip.

First of all, one of the advantages you can have is getting to know your history and your heritage more in deep. Although is it interesting to look at other cultures, get to know your culture first is more important. Additionally, you can enrich your cultural background and expand your horizons. I remember the first time I visited New York. I had. My family and I traveled with the companion of a guide to every landmark. We also stayed at a cousin’s house, so we were able to visit her and save money. In contrast, if you decide to travel abroad you must spend money buying airplane tickets and reserving the cheapest hotels if you want to save. This could be very inconvenient.

Secondly, visiting your country have more advantages. For example, no need to worry about the language barrier since it is your own language Although learning other languages can be fun and challenge at the same time, traveling domestically is more convenient because you can communicate without hesitation during your trip. Additionally, you can meet new friends, enjoy a movie, visit museums, parks. I have a colleague at work who went to China a couple of years ago. He was so stressed and afraid of the new language that decided to take an entry level course before engaging in his trip. As a result, he had to spend extra money buying new clothes because his trip was during winter time, using all his savings. Economy is another aspect to consider before travel.

Finally, if you have a busy schedule, you can fit your trip by combining long weekends and holidays. Very convenient when you have family and friends to visit. For example, last year during thanksgiving weekend I was able to combine my vacation days with the holiday. We ended it up with almost a week free, which was very convenient. Moreover, when traveling in your own country there is no need of extra vaccinations comparing when you must travel abroad. These simple things are easy to accomplish when you make plans accordingly and can make your destination easy and more enjoyable, which might inspire you to make future trips. This is another advantage versus traveling outside.

To conclude, I firmly agree that traveling in your own country instead visiting a foreign destination is better. People can benefit from this because it is safe, affordable and brings the opportunity to stay in touch with family and friends.