Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is extremely important that governments spend money in the areas that needed the most. In mi opinion, authorities should invest money in support of sports. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the support from government is important for the development of athletes and sports in general because they will represent our nation in future events. Furthermore, with the help of sport institutions, athletes and coaches can have better instruments and training, and athletes can make personal improvements and develop better skills. My brother is a compelling example of this. About twenty-five years ago, he began playing tennis in our hometown and the equipment that he used was not as sophisticated as it is today. As a result, his performance was not that high, despite the fact he was the best player on his team. For this reason, the Academy decided to give his coach a salary increase, in order to improve my brother’s performance. The results were astonishing because he was able to accomplish a lot of tasks in a short period of time. With the money received, he was able to acquire a new set of rackets, new clothes and shoes. In addition, he began to compete in our town, and later with player from other municipalities. Consequently, he won the Nationals and this team classified for the Olympics. It was a tremendous advance in his career, thanks to the government’s support. In my opinion, my brother would not have accomplished his goal without the help of his coach and the government.

Secondly, the support from the government for new talents is important because they can represent their nation in future tournaments. It is a fact that a lot of hidden talents, when discovered, are better than other athletes because of the support they receive. I remember about twenty years ago when I had the opportunity to visit South Africa during the Olympics. It was there the first time I heard about Maria Lourdes Mutola, the first South African female to have won the Olympic tittle over 800 meters. Moreover, after the historical race I decided to know more about her personal life and discovered that she was in fact a volleyball player, not a runner. When her couch saw her potential, he decided to work on her future as soon as possible. With the help of the Mozambique government, both of them traveled to United Stated to have a better and more sophisticated training. After two years of continuous practice, she conquered her dream, to become an Olympic medalist. She was nor only an incredible athlete, but also a great human being. Furthermore, during her last tournament in Mozambique, her country of origin, she decided to withdraw from the competition in order to give way to young competitors. Her personal example has been of great inspiration and motivation for generations of athletes, who, like her, want to excel. In my opinion, this would not have happened without the support of the government.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that athletics should receive total support from governments and political entities in general. This is because their help is important for the development of athletes and because the new talents discovered might represent future medals for their country at the Olympics.