Question :Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People around me seem to complain a lot about how their boring jobs are consuming their passion for work and how they need to step out of their comfort zone and try something new. However, there are also people who like to spend days doing the same tasks they are most comfortable with. Each working style has its pros and cons, and personally, I believe the former is more enjoyable. Needless to say, it would generate bigger challenges and higher pressure, but, at the same time, it also leads to a greater sense of satisfaction.

First, dealing with multiple tasks can improve work efficiency, which, in return, brings a sense of achievement. Doing similar tasks would never be a thrilling job as people tend to get worn out and distracted after a while. With the decline of concentration level, high work efficiency would be hard to maintain. People may feel that time gets wasted and they have not gained too much in the work process. When learning a new language, have you tried to spend the whole day doing nothing but reciting some new words from a vocabulary book? It is an almost effortless task as the stakes of task completion are low. However, are you enjoying doing it for several hours or even several days? Would you feel satisfied repeating the same thinking process over and over again? To most people, the answer would be no. After a while, without new accomplishments, without feeling a sense of fulfilment, repetition of work would render the whole process monotonous and painful.

Besides, working with various tasks tests hones people’s skills and promote personal growth. One strategy a lot of companies uses to explore their employees potential is to give employees the chance to take the initiative. They give them these changes by allowing them to “break things” and learn from those mistakes. This ultimately creates room for learning and innovation. A survey conducted by the Bureau invited 100 HR members from Top 500 companies. In a questionnaire, they were asked to list three things they would do to maximize their employees’ potential, and kindle their aspiration. 87% of them mentioned new projects or responsibilities. It is believed that pushing employees out of their comfort zone and encouraging them to take more responsibility would maintain employees’ working momentum. One HR said that people would more likely want to work with satisfaction when they have something interesting to do. Putting people to do some tedious jobs is like adding a glass ceiling in their career path. As a result, job hopping would become more frequent.

Admittedly, working on the same project would also be nice. People can refine their work little by little, and they don’t have to be faced with time pressure or other challenges. But doing the same task over and over again just results in the task being very easy. If people cannot see their personal growth, they would more likely get bored than get satisfied.

All in all, I believe that simpleness would not necessarily be equivalent to self-satisfaction. In fact. I believe it is quite the opposite, people might feel more content when they challenge themselves to do something new and try to accomplish something they have never accomplished before.