Rather than help children with schoolwork, parents should encourage kids to work independently

In this highly competitive society, children's achievement has attracted more and more attention from their parents, and it is universally acknowledged that teaching method plays a vital role in the success or failure of kids. This phenomenon gives rise to a heated debate about whether parents should encourage kids to finish their schoolwork independently or should they just help them with it. As far as I'm concerned, the ability to do schoolwork by themselves is a necessary to their overall development.

First, doing schoolwork independently can deepen children's understanding of what they learnt at school. Schoolwork is designed to maintain the knowledge which students have been taught at class, considering no one can remember everything they are told, schoolwork also gives students an opportunity to test themselves and to find out what they’ve missed. In this sense, with the help of others, schoolwork will lose its meaning. Taking myself for example, five years ago when I was busy preparing for the college entrance examination, my notebook had helped me a lot with all those mistakes I’ve make while doing schoolwork, basically, I progress because I learn from the mistakes shown by the schoolwork I did by my own.

Second, encourage kids to do schoolwork by themselves can help them develop an independent personality. This is because children will get used to doing schoolwork with the help of their parents if this kind of teaching method is implemented for a long time. This will directly result in an inability to solve problems independently, which means they probably will count on others about everything that’s hard to handle just like counting on their parents when encounter difficult problems at homework. Imagine such a scene, a considerate mother keeps taking care of every little things about her daughter, just because she thinks her daughter always deserves the best, and guess what, she continues to look after her daily life after she graduates, due to the lack of life experience her daughter has.

Admittedly, I’m not denying the value of helping kids with their schoolwork, since it will be easier to supervise them and offer them a better solution when they need. Nonetheless, always offering help may just yield a counterproductive consequence, because their nice heart may kill children’s ability of independent thinking.

In a word, parents should let their kids finish the schoolwork alone instead of helping them with it. For encouraging them do it on themselves not only help maintain their knowledge but also help cultivate a better personality.