The rules that societies expect young people to follow are too strict.

Young people in the 21st century may constantly complain that the society has forced them to act and feel in a certain way. Criticism has correspondingly been raised, claiming that our society has made too many overly strict rules on the youth. Nevertheless, I disagree with this view; considering the consequences of an order-less society, these rules are more than just necessary.

To begin with, parents nowadays have actually given children more freedom in taking control of their own lives and making their own decisions, which represent fewer rules for the teen to obey. My mother sometimes complains to me that my grandfather had always restricted her to do anything he disliked and interfered with her own decisions when she was a young girl, such as telling her not to talk to the boys in school and choose a job that offered the best salary rather than the one she liked the most. However, what was ordinary two decades ago has changed in the societies of the current era, when globalization washes away the traditional, old value and brings in the notion of liberty and independence to the societies. Therefore, comparing to my mother’s experience, I strongly felt that we, as adolescents, are not living under the control of these many strict rules. Since our parents do not put extremely rigid rules on us like our grandparents do, we are able to do much more things than before with less constraint. For instance, we can freely interact with boys and learn how men’s perspective could differ from that of women, or choose a job that we truly enjoy. Either way, it is clear that the rules for the teenagers to follow in our societies are not too strict to follow, especially when the societies have undergone societal changes.

Other than the family factor, in terms of business, many companies in the world do not set up tedious rules for their young employees, due to the fact that the success of a firm today has become more closely associated with the creative sparks of its employees. To free one’s innovative mind, a reduction in the number of restrictions is often necessary. Google’s 20% Time initiative would serve as an excellent illustration, which encourages young Google’s employees to spend 20% of their entire working time on certain projects that have no clear alignment with the corporation’s strategy and their own regular projects. This initiative benefits Google to be more creative and innovative, which are 2 crucial features for a technology company that put great emphasis on its advancement and product design. As a result, many troublesome rules that prevent the youth from begin creative have disappeared naturally.

To sum up, in the current society, both the family and the business are imposing fewer rules to the youth. The former guarantees more choices and freedom while the latter weighs innovation much heavier than the regulation. Therefore, I firmly believe that the rules young people need to follow can hardly be labeled as “strict”, as it is obviously an overstatement if applied to the reality.