Should advertisement be directed towards young children? Do you agree or disagree

Advertising is an integral part of a business organization that wants to make profit and continue to survive in this harsh economic condition. Television as a means to advertise has been the new trend in modern day society. Some people today feel television advertising directed toward young children should be supported because they feel this might help this product move in the market, while some feel it is a wrong idea. In my view I think television advertising shouldn’t be directed toward young children for two important reasons which I’ll discuss in this essay.

The main reason is that these advertisements are encouraging these young ones to stick to watching television. Many young ones today often love to spend their time watching television. This companies directing this advertising towards their age group would help to further increase the time they spend watching this television and this often affect their studies negatively. My brother demonstrates this to be a reality. My brother Deji is five years of age. He likes spending most of his time watching television because of this adverts from companies directed towards their age group. From seeing this products, he often pesters my parents until they get him this product. Most of the video games he plays are from this advert. With time his grades in school starts suffering from his watch of this television adverts. In time the teacher alerted my parent that my brother often come to school to discuss the new products he saw from this advert and imploring his friend to try to tell their parents to purchase such item for them. As you can see, this advertisement directed towards these young ones is causing more harm than good.

Another reason is that these young ones aren’t the ones paying for this product. Most times after seeing the products many of the young ones would beg their parents to get the products for them and if they don’t they start displaying an obstinate character. For instance, my brother Deji, when he asks both parents to get him the products he saw in any of the advertisement and my parent didn’t oblige. He tries calling different uncles and aunties he has. If they also refuse him. He often become obstinate and negligent towards his chores at home, telling my parent that if they didn’t buy him this product he will continue to behave like that. This experience has taught me that advertisement shouldn’t be directed towards these young ones because they are not the one paying for this items.

In sum, though some feel advertisement should be directed towards this young one. In my view advertisement should not be directed towards them. Not only do these advert encourage them to spend most of their time watching television and thereby affecting their studies, these young ones aren’t the one paying for these advertised product.