Some colleges and universities allow students to declare their majors only after their sophomore year. Some universities make students declare their major in the first year. Which policy do you think is better and why?

A statistic, published by Educational Advisory Board, a research and consulting firm based in Washington D.C., points out that allowing students to declare their majors only after their sophomore year is a better policy for higher education. The study presented that end result by exploring the connection between student’s final declaration and providing scientific base on how it affected their time to degree and graduation rates. Plus, whilst the majority of people prone to alter their minds along with time, going in undecided can be a good strategy to take control of your academic destiny.

To prove the first notion that later major declaration benefits students life planing, for example, students in a recent class at Western Kentucky University had higher four-year graduation rates when they waited two years before declaring a major. A psychology research can explain that situation: the act of major switching itself is a positive indicator of committed engagement. 83.4% of students who declared their final major later graduated on time, comparing to 72.8% of students who declared and did not change their major. After all, being undecided in college allows the students to explore their interest to find the major that truly fits. One can take classes, talk to students and professors, and join clubs to get a feel for all the options.

Secondly, a survey conducted by the authority shows that up to 70% of the students are fairly like to change their major after college exploration. No matter how certain the students are now, their mind may change; especially once they arrive at college and are exposed to its seemingly endless array of course offerings. As the saying goes: college is a time to explore your interest. All experts agree that it is okay that there are students who have their lives planned out from the time they are in middle school, yet the majority of students need a little more time than high school to figure our their academic interest and their professional focus.

Notwithstanding that declaring a major before admission definitely granted the applicant a more attractive figure to the colleges both for acceptance and lucrative financial aid, such strategy only limited to be relatively helpful for the applicants who showcase an early on firm interest in entering some professional programs demanding major prerequisite classes.

In summary, if one cannot answer “yes” to questions of “ do you know what the requirements are for your prospective major? ” and “ have you researched the career options that are available to students who are majoring in this field? “ , it is like best to enter to the later-major-declaration policy university.