In some countries students do not pay any tuition to attend universities However in other countries students must pay to attend universities and the cost of university tuition can be very high Therefore some people believe that all the nations should use

Nowadays, our society has witnessed the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, and more and more people attach great importance to education. In this regard, a general controversy arises. Some people advocate that the government should divert a large amount of money deriving from taxes to the university education to make it free to all students. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, allocating excessive money to universities just to reduce the tuition of students will grind down the overall quality of teaching and research. As we all know, the teaching quality of a professor is highly associated with the number of students in a class. If the universities open their doors to all students, the classrooms will be too crowded to let teachers pay attention to every student. This proposal will curtail the possibility of promoting the teachers to educate students in accordance with their aptitude. Moreover, the professors are responsible for conducting research and writing scientific papers. With too many students packed in the school, they will no longer have enough time to do research because of the teaching workload. My business professor is a prime example of this point. One semester, he started a course and more than one hundred students enrolled in that class. Too many students in a classroom talk with others and laugh loudly, distracting my professor enormously. Besides, he had to distribute a large amount of time to correct students’ assignments, leaving no time for academic activities.

In addition, free education may not make students study harder. In some countries, a better education means higher tuition. Although some students may come from poverty-stricken families, they can gain scholarships to pay for the expensive tuition and continue their studies. In this way, real talents can be selected. If all the universities are free to the public, some students may not be motivated to study hard on grounds that no matter how their grades are, they are still granted the chance to further their education. Meanwhile, it will also be more inefficient to find out students who are passionate about academics and research since they no longer endure pressure to stand out to gain grants. It is investigated that money is not the main reason for quitting an educational program for students who are in universities. And sometimes, though students have to pay for the costly tuition, money can be an enormous stimulus to push them to study industriously.

Admittedly, free universities also deliver benefits to students under some circumstances. Students can ease their financial burden when perusing their academic dreams. They will have more opportunities to enrich their knowledge. However, it is also unavoidable that the deficiencies of free university education can trigger some negative outcomes as listed above. Thus, we should think more thoroughly when discussing this problem.

In a nutshell, although knowledge is priceless, the tickets to the ship of education also need to be paid for. On no accounts should we ignore the adversities of free education, and it is too rash to label free universities as a superior choice.