Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of offering money to childeren in return of good performance in shool. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely prefer not to reward in such way to motivate my children. It is my firm believe that stimulating kids and children with money will have devastating long term influence for them for a number of reasons, and I will develope them in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I think that when children try for better result and high grades in school they gradually miss the main point of lessons and education. In other word the priority for them switch to money instead finding their own way and goal in life. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter, profoundly, affected by my own personal experiences. I remember that when I was a kid I used to dream about my future job as a pilot, but when there was a kind of competition for money between me and my younger brother I always did not think about study more and better for my porpuse. Therefore, as you can see, the money may have some good consiquences in short term period, but it can work the other way around too.

Secondly, when children use to recieve money for their effort they will believe that money worth more than any think else and each time they will ask for more next time. Children should understand and being tought that money is not goal by itself and they cannot evaluate everything by money. Drawing from my own experience, my father used to motivate us by toys or some homemade stuff. Exactly thoes handmade toys made me more excited about technical fields and later helped me to choose the engineering major in university. As it is clear, if i were rewarded with just money instead of thoes toys I would have never discovered my attitude toward engineering. In other words, we should not restricted the positive side of children's mind (like reward for goog grade and marks in school) with money and teach them there are lots of things that worth a lot.

Finally, I have to mention that we should not ommit the money entierly, and beside the method mentioned above we can offer them money too, to prepare them for economical life in future. Actually, the money and other method are two side of a balance scale that we should keep balace by controlling both sides. We should never forget that education, specially for children, is one of most delicate fields that we cannot pay attention just to one aspect and we should see it as whole.

In light of afforementioned reasonsa, I strongly believe that instead of money of at least beside money we can teach children with reward too. In this way, they will be motivated for better performance in schoold and also learn something which will help them in future.