Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activities. Others feel that human actions make the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Unquestionably, the Earth is being harmed by human activity, and one of the pressing problems facing our Earth today is climate change.

First of all, there are too many cars and factories now, both of which cause serious air pollution. In my country, the autumn and winter air becomes extraordinarily awful. The air quality deteriorates and the smog makes it difficult to breathe. Hence, many people have contracted asthma and severe allergies are commonplace. In addition, because of the surge in greenhouse gasses like CO2 in recent decades, the temperature is higher than that in the past. The effects of this climate change and severe weather fluctuations are apparent. Last year in my country, some places started snowing, which surprised all of us. This strange phenomenon is the consequence of human activities on earth. There is little doubt that immediate action is required to produce more eco-friendly technology such as alternative energies and emissions-free vehicles. The ample evidence presented enables us to reasonably conclude that human food production has a massive negative impact on the ecosystem.

Take for instance the elevated consumption of beef. Cows raised for agricultural use produce high amounts of methane gas, which is a major contributing factor to global warming. Moreover, rainforests are often clear-cut to make more space for cattle farming, thereby reducing the amount of beneficial foliage. The resulting floods, storms and droughts have taken a toll, causing tens of thousands of deaths. In addition to clear-cutting and burning trees for economic benefit, we also have hunted many species to extinction. Human impact on animal populations has been drastic, done simply to boost the economy.

Although humans have made extraordinary leaps in technological advancement, it has not kept up with the destruction humans have caused to Mother Nature. I recently read a newspaper article on the destruction of seabeds and the disappearance of coral reefs. The deplorable problem of overfishing has also aroused public concern. Furthermore, countries are dumping their garbage into the oceans. In addition, offshore drilling for oil and gas has resulted in oil leaks and noise pollution. The catastrophic consequence is hundreds of whales beaching themselves. We should nurture a sense of responsibility and become better stewards of the environment. We have the technological means to mitigate our environmental impact, so we must try to find a way which is beneficial for both humans and the Earth. We mustn’t lose sight of the fact that we’ve only got one planet, and we need to interact with it in a better way