Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

The debate raised is essentially one of authority v/s liberty. In my opinion, government officials should base their decisions on their own judgment. While it is true that the duty of government officials is to work for the well-being of their people by considering their problems and providing solutions to the same, in any case, they need to work for the people and not as per the people. I believe this way for mainly two reasons: 1) It is not possible to get the entire population to agree on something unanimously, 2) Sometimes it is necessary to take into account the long-term goals and repercussions of the decisions taken to achieve short-term advantages.

To begin with, most countries are divided into certain groups of people based on their race, ethnicity, caste, religion, where they live, or even the language they speak. Now, in such times, it is nearly impossible that all these groups of people would agree on one final decision on any issue. It is the responsibility of government officials to resolve the never-ending cycle of disagreements and revisions of decisions here. In most cases, government officials are the people elected or trusted by the general populace to take the best actions considering the general welfare of the citizens. Therefore, they need to focus on their own judgment based on the experiences they have from their past to take meaningful actions. For example, consider the issue of whether to allow abortion or not. In some religions, abortion is considered a sin. However, something that is not acceptable to one group of people may not be the best for all. In such cases, government officials need to finalize decisions that work best for the majority of the people.

Secondly, the citizens of the country may not be fully aware of the current situation or they may not consider all the scenarios while taking a stance on certain issues. Take an example of the long-standing war between industries and environment specialists. For the general population, it may be better to develop more and more industries in order to create more job opportunities. Nevertheless, it is crucial for leaders to have a futuristic view of the consequences that the country will need to face if the natural resources and environment are not preserved or used in an efficient manner.

One may argue that, by not acting on the sentiments and needs of the denizens of the country, the government will create obstacles for themselves for the next elections. Admittedly, in certain areas, officials need to take action according to the requirements of the people. For example, it would be reasonable to forgo the personal ambitions of development, space exploration, etc. when the people of the country need more hospitals and better educational institutions.

In conclusion, government officials need to work according to their own judgment which is in the best interest of the citizens. However, the author's claim seems indefensible both from normative and empirical viewpoints, when we consider the possibility of getting everyone to agree on the same decision or taking action for the long-term goals that work in favor of the overall growth of the nation.