Some people believe that Improving health care, education and pensions is the most urgent, while others believe that electing a constitutional assembly is more important. Which option do you prefer?

In these days people are discussing about the changes that Chile needs, some part of the country think that we have to make a new constitution, because ours stops any deep change of model. For other part is more urgent to modificate pension, education, or health care system because it incise in the daily lives of citizens.

The ones who think that change constitution of 1980 is the most urgent problem to solve argues that it works as a clipper for any deep changes, because when politicians try to do something else different than neoliberal public politics or laws, Constitutional Court resolve that is unconstitutional. For example, in 2018, the Constitutional Court said that article which declares illegal the profit on education system was not according to the constitution, so the court removes it of the legal order. They see in this case, how fundamental rule did not allow radical changes.

By other way a group think that the constitution is a piece of paper that does not matter so much because people on the streets are angry for not having anything to eat or for the absence of medical supplies, and argue that this problems are away from the lawyers’ discussions of the constitution. Furthermore, they sustain the thesis that changes can be done with our present constitution and if we do not have those laws is because there are not political willness. A good example of this is that criminal code has not been modified, although the elaboration of four projects by experts, it dates from 1874 and politicians never discuss a reform, despite constitution does not impede them.

As we can see, in Chile exist two visions about the relevance of a new constitution, one who think that our biggest problem is the constitution, and by the other hand, one who sustain that the real problem is the absence of political willness. However, we cannot deny the relevance of these two issues that are related between them.