Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to

In recent years, there has been a trend among busy parents toward utilizing spare time to have fun such as arts and sports, because these entertainment activities do not have a direct relation with children’s schoolwork.

It lies in the fact that education is valuable by people only when it improves students’ academic record. Although playing games and sport are not directly related to academic record, these entertainment activities have countless benefits to students’ success in their future careers.

The idea that sport is important to children’s development has been widely accepted. First of all, sport can enhance intelligence. Playing games enables children to know how to coordinate different parts of their bodies. The advantage is that children who can use sport instruments proficiently cab juggle different task in their adulthood. Playing games can foster the culture of cooperation among teenagers as they are required to collaborate with each other in a basketball team or a football team. Playing games is also considered as a healthy way of relieving stress, because it can lighten one’s mood and reduce anxiety.

Playing games also has a beneficial effect on children’s physical and mental health. Children who engage in physical activity can constantly maintain a healthy weight and have stamina to handle their schoolwork.

This is particularly important, considering that young people are increasingly addicted to the sedentary activity, such as watching TV.

Furthermore, children who exercise habitually normally have a positive attitude to life, which enables them to cope with stress easily.

Therefore, we can see how important some non-academic activities can be to students’ future career success. Sports and playing games can develop students’ intellectual skills and social skills, while they are able to improve students’ physical health and self-esteem.