Some people like to buy and eat their meals at restaurants frequently, while others like

to do this at home. Which do you prefer? Why?

Nowadays, eating meals at restaurants is becoming a trend popular among young people. Seldom do they cook at home, and most of them even cannot cook themselves a hearty meal. As one of such young people, I prefer buying and eating my meals at restaurants. My reasons are given below.

First, food offered in restaurants is prepared by professional chefs. Thus, it is tastier than the food cooked at home. No one can be so confident to boldly claim that he or she cooks better dishes than those chefs. This is even truer for me. So, in order to have a taste of the delicious food which I can ever be able to cook, I prefer eating at restaurants. Plus, with the globalization, which has already penetrated catering industry for decades, a large variety of cuisines from different countries and regions are served at local restaurants. When I fulfill my mouth and stomach with different tastes and flavors, the great joy of living is maximized. In the meantime, such cuisines give me an opportunity to have a completely new dining experience, by which I have learned much about exotic culture. For example, when I firstly ate steak, I didn’t know how to hold the fork and knife, what the difference between “medium” and “medium well” is, or whether I should better drink wine or champagne. After listening to the detailed explanation by the kind waitress, I came to know the answers to my questions. By the same token, eating sushi at a Japanese restaurant inspired me to know more about Japanese culture. This, then, became an impetus for my longing for travelling around the world.

Another reason is that eating at restaurants save me large amount of time, which I can use for studying and working. Buying ingredients, preparing food and washing dishes afterward with no doubt consumes no less than two hours in total. In two hours, I can finish a lesson for Japanese language and also do some related quizzes. In two hours, I can hold a conference with my client to discuss further cooperation. In two hours, I can also play badminton with my friends in order to keep healthy. On the contrary, I will use two hours to have my not-so-tasty lunch if I cook by myself, and another two to have super. In this case, four hours are wasted every day and those who have someone prepare them for food or those who eat at restaurants have four more hours each day to equip themselves with new knowledge. Let’s take a small example to further explain this. Two students from the same class are preparing for an important test. One of them always cooks dinner himself and continues to do so during this period. So, he has at most 3 hours to study every day. Another eats at restaurants and has 7 hours for the preparation. Which student do you think will get better result for the coming test?

Someone may reject by saying that cooking at home is more economical. I must say that they only see things with eyes but not with their hearts. Cooking at home indeed saves some money. But compared with the time it wastes, as I explained above, such money is nothing to speak of. When this time is used to study or work, the payback is more heart-stirring than one can imagine after some time’s accumulation. In addition, when people become more competent by making full use of the two more hours every day to expand their skill sets, they undoubtedly will be able to earn more money.

In short, considering the advantages for eating at restaurants, I prefer to have my three meals at restaurants rather than to cook at home. And as far as I am concerned, those who enjoy the merriness of cooking with their own hands will sometimes need to sacrifice such merriness for more important and more rewarding things.