Some people prefer to eat meals at restaurants, while others prefer to prepare and eat food in their own home. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Different people prefer different taste. Food is something that people prefer to eat according to their taste buds. People vary in their taste for salt, spices, and cuisine. I prefer to cook my own meal for three main reasons which I will elucidate further in my essay.

Firstly, cooking is an art and people often want to excel at it. There are people who take special classes to learn cooking. Cooking is another way of revealing oneself from tension at your workplace especially when cooking with family. People choose to try out their mother or grandmother recipes, these recipes act as strengthening the bond between the generations. My personal experience is a compelling example, I usually help my mom cook dinner. It helps my creativity and innovation brain to some use. We together can try out new dishes and it is a good bonding time for both of us.

Secondly, the food cooked at home is healthy and fresh ensuring good health. There are many restaurants that serve stale food or reheated food. According to the doctors, re-heated food has a more harmful effect on our food than stale food. For instance, the latest survey of our city reveals that 80% of the restaurants on sudden inspection were found to be using re-heated food which leads to digestive infections among people. These foods have a pernicious effect on our bodies in the long run.

Lastly, restaurants use tastebud enhancers and appetizers to increase people’s craving for their food. Some restaurants also add preservatives in perishable food items to increase their sale and profit. To exemplify my point, the food sold in my neighborhood food parlor is consumed by a lot of office goers who cannot prepare their own food. People speak highly of their food taste and hence it is able to attract a huge crowd. On a sudden visit by drug inspectors, it was revealed that the restaurants were adding beyond the permissible amount of taste enhancers. The inspectors recommended the daily eaters to get a health check done. On examining it was found that many of them have developed an accumulation of these enhancers which will severely affect their digestive system.

To conclude, homemade food is not only healthy and safe to consume, but it is also free from all the added unwanted chemicals whose daily consumption is harmful. Eating lending is the eye to maintaining good health and increasing longevity of lifespan.