Some people prefer to live with a roommate. Others prefer to live alone. Compare the advantages of each choice. Which of these two options do you prefer? Use specific reasons to support your answer.

Some people have to move far from home in order to study or to work. In both cases they have to choose between living alone or whether live with a roommate. Both, living alone and living with a roommate have advantages and disadvantages. An advantage that both options have in common is that the people will build independence; they will have to learn to make many household activities by themselves. But, as far as I am concerned, I strongly believe that living with a roommate is more beneficial. In this essay I will explore a few reasons to support my opinion.

First of all, it is important to consider that we are human being, and we live in society, I mean, we need to create social relationships, and living with a partner this task is going to be easier, because he is a potential friend and if he have some other friend we will be available to meet them. To illustrate that idea let us consider the following example. I remember when I moved to Spain. I lived in an apartment with a roommate; he was from Spain and had a lot of friends in town. He used to invite me to the parties and other activities with his friends. At the end of my stayed in Spain, I met many friends thank to my roommate.

Secondly, and equally important is the companionship. When you are living far from home is better to live with someone that helps you when you need it. For instance, a friend of mine who was working abroad got ill and his roommate took care of him. As you can see, living with a roommate could be a great advantage in some situations.

By way of conclusion, based on the reasons and examples explored above, I am of the opinion that in most cases living with someone else is better than living alone. Not only for the help in household activities but also for the companionship and the great support in other critical situations.