Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Cities tend to be big because of the influx of people who move there in search of opportunities. In the past cities were built on the banks of rivers or oceans, this caused them to be important center of trade, commerce and other means of livelihood. People from villages would migrate here in search of a better lifestyle, abundance of food and other amenities. This lifestyle is opposed to that of small towns as townspeople generally live a quiet, simple and peaceful life surrounded by trees and mountains. I personally like the big city life as I was brought up in New York City, a giant metropolis.

Firstly, as a resident of a big city I would like to bring out the abundance of amenities that are not present in towns. Transport is one such amenity, there are buses, trains, taxis, metro cars, etc. that can take you anywhere you want to go in a short amount of time. Cities also have many hospitals that have many doctors that treat even the rarest diseases. In most cities you can find convenience stores every block which makes it easy to live. These are amenities that city folk find to be the norm, that is not that case in small towns where patients have to wait on a single doctor and buses ply once in a blue moon.

Secondly I would point out that cities are lifelines of a country’s economy. Cities have all types of businesses that deal in all types of products. This creates a thirst for man power that cannot be quenched. Small towns may not have the business infrastructure to support its inhabitants who obtain specialized knowledge. This is why many people flock to cities to get a better standard of life and fatter pay checks.

Lastly I would point out that cities also have many flaws. Many people can get burdened by the competitiveness and hustle and bustle of living in a city, this can lead to many health issues like stress and heart disease. Cities are also the largest environmental threats as their businesses spew out many by-products that then in turn create health issues for the people living there.

I personally like cities more than towns because even though cities have many issues I believe that the good points outweigh the negative ones.