Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, advertisement plays an important role in the economy of a country. Although some people think that advertisement can promote buying unnecessary commodities, I, personally, do believe that advertisement can bring us some advantages--that is awareness about products' features and the opportunity of comparing stuff to make the best decision--which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, in today's hectic lifestyle time is like "gold' for people. Of so great significance is the time that people should try to use it as useful as possible in order to live a prosperous and comfortable life. Needless to say, the advertisement can play an important role as to the amount of time anyone needs to spend in order to find products which they want. Thanks to the advertisement, for instance, people can easily keep track of the information of every item on TV, the Internet, radio, to name but a few. Without advertisement, however, individuals have to check all malls and shops every day which is a really time-consuming and impossible way.

Additionally, it is said that advertisement can bring the opportunity of comparing goods in order to find the best one. People are said to have some criteria--such as quality, warranty, price, color, to name but a few--in order to buy products. It is crystal clear that advertisement can be like a "resume" for products which presents how valuable a stuff is. Therefore, showing different features of a product, and also providing enough information about their application tend to help people whether these products have worth of spending money or not. Indeed, the advertisement can be such a useful way that helps people to make the best decision. However, if a person buys goods which are not necessary for him or her, it will not has to do with advertisement. Rather, without doubt, they have not thought enough before buying something.

In the light of these crucial advantages, I strictly believe that advertisement and publicity can play a useful role in order to ameliorate people’s lives. Advertisement, not only can decrease the time needed to buy a stuff but also can help people to find a product completely compatible with individuals’ need.