Some people say people who are tending to take risks can be more successful than people who are careful and cautious. What is your opinion? Please give specific details and examples in your answer.

To be successful is always desirable for everyone, but people do have different views about what is the key to success. Some claim that people who are willing to take risks have more possibilities to succeed, while others believe that we are supposed to be cautious. From my perspective, we should have different strategies when facing different situations. If we are able to stand the negative effects brought by the failure, taking risks might be a good choice. Otherwise, we had better be cautious.

In some circumstances, taking risks will offer us more chances to make profits and to become successful, but we should make the situation clear and make a right judgment about whether we could stand its failures. For example, many businessmen might invest their money in a wide range of industries, like building industries, business industries and so on. No matter how successful a businessman is, he could never be able to make sure he will win. But what he or she can make sure is that he or she can be responsible for the failure, which is resulted from the risks, and have the capacity to withstand the negative result. We often praise someone for taking risks and succeed, but we seem to fail to take into the basic fact that even if he fails, he still could continue his life.

On another circumstance, if we have not enough ability that allows us to recover from the bad impact brought by taking risks or we have much uncertainty about the results, being careful and cautious could be much wiser. Taking any jobs or making any investment is the way for people to better his lives, but what will happen if the failure of such actions end his lives? Besides successful events, we often hear that some bosses commit suicide due to the failure of investment. This kind of incidents should encourage us to take a comprehensive consideration before taking actions. Without life, nothing will left, not to mention the success. Although taking some risks could make us famous overnight, but it might cause negative results that we cannot afford. Therefore, before the situation becomes clear, we should calm down and keep careful.

From what have been discussed above, people who want to be successful ought to be careful and at the same time being able to take risks. It is unwise for us to always value the one quality more than the other.