Some people say that teachers and parents should decide what assignment or activities children should do after school. Others say that children should make these decisions on their own. Which view do you agree with and why?

Different people hold different perspectives about whether adults have the right to decide what activities children should do after school. Personally, I believe that letting children make their own decisions is more ideal and reasonable. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, parents and teachers should focus on children’s grades, and granting children the right to do their assignments will help them gain a higher score. For example, my friend Todd had the freedom to study his weak subjects after class. To elaborate, he was already proficient and talented in math and science, so he studied English and social study for more than 3 hours every day. Eventually, he got A-pluses and As on all of the courses. On the other hand, my aunt required my niece to do English worksheets after school day by day. Therefore, even though my niece acquired an A-plus on most of his English tests, he failed to pass his math final exam. If he had the freedom to decide what to study after class, he would have studied math more and prevented himself from flunking that subject. So clearly, permitting kids to design their assignments is a horrendous idea.

In addition, adults should teach kids how to become independent, and allowing them to make their schedule after school can help them become more independent. For instance, my brother assigned himself housework after his school ended every day. Therefore, he learned how to do the laundry, wash the dishes, and cook meals when he was only 10-years-old. Furthermore, when he went on a field trip with his classmates, many of his friends asked him for help on various chores. He became one of the most independent children in his class. On the contrary, my cousin was forced to go to math, physics, and chemistry cram school day by day after he finished his class. Consequently, although he frequently got first-place in many courses, he had problems performing even the most basic house chores like cleaning his room.

Last but not least, educators should emphasize students’ happiness. Yet, not letting children decide what they want to do after school will make them unhappy. Take me as an example. My middle school teacher required me to do community services for hours after 16 o’clock every day. To be more specific, we spent nearly an hour merely cleaning trash and leaves on campus. We often feel exhausted after walking through the whole campus every day. As a result, I often feel depressed about my middle school life. Contrarily, my sister often played board games with her friends after school. She made lots of friends, had a lot of fun, and maintained good connections with them. As a result, she often felt contented with her school life. Therefore, it is clear that letting children decide on their after-school activities makes them feel happier.

In conclusion, I maintain that letting children do what they want to do after school is a better option. After all, parents and teachers must focus on kids’ grade, educate them on how to become independent, and ensure that they are happy all the time.