Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past can help us better understand the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions vary on whether learning about our ancestors has any value for us contemporaries. While it may true that every generation must be free to act for itself, knowing historical precedents, I believe, is essential because a nation cannot thrive unless its people learn from their past mistakes.

Indeed, our history is a circle of events that occur in every age, whether it is a war, an industrial revolution, or the act of xenophobia. It therefore would be unwise to overlook the fact that the humankind faced the same problems and issues in its past as it comes across in its present. Nor would it be prudent to ignore the circumstances under which happened these events. These circumstances are continually changing, and as the government is for the living, and not for the dead, it is the living only that has any right in it. What may be thought right and found convenient in one age may be thought wrong and found inconvenient in another.

Nevertheless, history is a mandatory subject at schools and universities and is such for a good reason. A proverb says, ‘A tree cannot stand without its roots,’ which seems such obvious wisdom, a well-worn cliche in our era in which everything truly insightful has already been said. But all cliches derive their endurance from their truth, and ancestors who coined this adage were sending a clear and powerful message to their descendants: a people cannot flourish without their life-giving foundations in the past. The ties between those who came before and those who live now must be maintained and nurtured if a people is to survive.

Let’s stick with the example of historical mistakes made by national leaders. Donald Trump, the former US president, did not appreciate history and promulgated laws against legal and illegal immigrants. After years of his policy, the Congress, the Senate, and the nation have encountered dire problems and limitations of this policy both literally and figuratively. The agricultural sector lost cheap workforce from Latin America; companies from the IT area could not afford engineers and high-tech specialists from Eastern Europe. Had Trump considered historical record of similar issues, their causes and, even more importantly, their effects, the American economy would not have suffered as it did.

Overall, learning about our past can help us develop a thoughtful and critical mind. As we endeavor to understand why things happened in the past, we can make more informed decisions in our present-day life.