Some people think that success is most important in their life. Others think that it’s more important to be happy when they fail. Which idea do you agree with and why?

On the one hand, when people think of doing something, they never expect anything rather than success. I think this is because it’s actually part of nature. In other words, human beings are creatures that crave for success. Look at all those competitions that take place on a regular basis. Take World Cup for example. People from all over the world see different teams competing with each other only to see which one of them finally wins. Billions of dollars are spent over the course of four years to train a national team for a 90-minute match to only see whether or not it is able to make it to the final match. As absurd as it is, no matter how well you played or how hardworking a team was, it’s only the final score that matters to most people. To put it in another way, if a team wins, people think that they were the best. On the other hand, the loser is always put on the blame. Therefore, to be successful in a competition with another team is the most important issue for the majority of people.

On the other hand, I believe that failing is part of every competition. I mean sometimes you win, sometimes you lose and the thing that matters the most is to keep your head up, be happy and learn from your mistakes. In fact, you should fail to be able to climb the ladder of success. Take the same national football team in the World Cup as an example. If there are some issues with the tactics of the coach leading to a lost first match, it’s only through remaining happy and learning from their mistakes that the team is able to revive its lost self-confidence and get ready for the nest match. That way, they are able to identify their weakness, work on their tactics and finally hope to not repeat the previous match. When the time comes and they are on the pitch, with the hope coming from the happiness of their failure, they are able to put their heart and soul on the game and finally win.

The same perspective could be applied to people’s life. Sometimes you try your best to master and interview that leads to your dream job and you think you are the “most successful” person on earth since you could make it. And there are days in which you are not even the shadow of yourself in the job to which you were assigned. You shouldn’t give up and think that the world is over only because you weren’t successful in that job. I think what matters the most in life is to be able to cope with any situation. Therefore, I must admit the most important thing in life is to remain happy while you failed and try your best to win next time.