Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A job with more vacation time but a low salary is better than a job with a high salary but less vacation time.

Over the course of history, people have seen jobs as the fundamental part of everyone’s life. It both provides people with the money they need and the satisfaction that comes after knowing that you are useful. In this line of thought, given the options of working with more salary but limited number of holidays and more holidays but less salary, I would wholeheartedly go with the former. Two of my reasons will be elaborated below.

Firstly, decent salary can lead to a more quality vacation, despite being less often. Generally speaking, you need to have a packet full of money if you want to enjoy your holiday. This is because, there are a myriad of costs you have to afford. It ranges from airplane far to hotel reservation and rental cars. In this way, if you want your vacation to be as epic as possible, you ought to spend huge amount of money. That being said, if your job doesn’t provide you with the needed money, you can’t spend a quality time. Personally speaking, were I to choose between going on vacations so often but with limited budget and having holidays seldom but in a classy manner, I’d definitely choose the second option. Therefore, I’d rather my job consists of limited off days while I make more money whereby I am able to make the most out of a vacation. Having more money, I can spend 3 days in a six-star hotel and create an epic experience rather than spending six days in a three-star hotel with the minimum level of services.

Secondly, by saving more money, I may be able to start my own business after some years of working. No one denies the fact that in order for people to start their own business, they must possess huge amount of money. In addition to money, they also need to be experienced and be equipped with the necessary know-how of running a business. If I choose the job offering big amounts of money, I am able to save some. With the experience gained through all those years of working, I am able to start my own business. That way, not only am I able to make more money, I am also able to increase my days of vacation. This is because CEOs don’t necessarily need to be at work every day. They can manage their company with their phone. For example, I can be in a hotel in Qatar and, thanks to technology, telecommute. The point of this example can be encapsulated in this sentence: I can both earn more money and more days of vacation after some years of working if I choose a job with better salaries but fewer off days in the first place.