Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Adolescents are prone to commit a crime if they do not receive a good education from adults. Although a juvenile will not listen easily, it is best for people who have been imprisoned but become good citizens later to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing an offence. I agree with this opinion because of some rational reasons.

First of all, teenagers usually listen to those who have already undergone a certain situation. This is because they think that they can get some beneficial advice from their “seniors”. Adolescents often suspect the opinions of everyone since they are confused about which advice they should follow. However, they will listen carefully to those who have truly been through the circumstances as they can foresee the results. For example, I usually cast doubt on my parents' warnings against drinking alcohol before legal age; nevertheless, I somehow painstakingly followed my brother’s reminder of not drinking beers after I saw that he was fined by the police since he drank beers at his friend’s party.

Secondly, juveniles tend to believe in used-to-be offenders’ stories. Criminals are the ones who truly know the consequences that they have to face once they break the laws; as a result, they can report in detail all the process and consequences of a crime as well as ways to avoid which can convince teenagers. In contrast, those who did not sail through the problems can solely give cautions by and large that not only cause teenagers to be baffled but also evoke their curiosity. Consequently, they might try out those forbidden activities just to satisfy their curiosity. For instance, there was a boy, who was well-educated, related to nicotine smuggling. His parents did teach him well and also warned him not to get involved in any illegal activities. Nevertheless, they just gave him an overall alarm, so he himself decided to figure out what it would be if he crossed the line. The little boy had been sentenced for two years because of his actions.

In conclusion, I strongly have faith that people who have been sent to prison are the most suitable ones to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime because they can give juveniles the whole stories in detail and give useful advice which is needed for teenagers.