Some students prefer to study at a large university that has several thousand students. Other students prefer studying at a small school that has only a few hundred students. Which type of these two types of schools do you prefer?

Although choosing between a small university or a big university may seem challenging, the answer is simple: a small college is the way to go since it provides a more personal approach for the student. I will explore how this is done in the following essay.

One thing a small university offers is a small number of students in a class. this allows a teacher to answer more student questions. Whereas in a big lecture hall where there are hundreds of students, the instructor can only answer a limited number of questions. Thus teacher will get more familiar with the students in the smaller class and may even get to know some of the students' names. When I went to a large college, the lecture hall looked like a movie theatre. The professor was on top of the stage and would speak with a microphone. this environment was not connecting and it was difficult to approach the professor and/or ask questions.

Another advantage of a small college is students get to know their fellow students. since they probably take similar class and the class are smaller in size, this gives way to more familiarity between the student. this will increase the chances of socializing out of the classroom and allow for the creation of long-term friendships. this environment creates an approachable atmosphere where students are comfortable asking each other questions about the class.

To conclude, smaller colleges tend to create a personal approach to the student. It creates an atmosphere where students get to know their professors and their fellow students and this is why I believe smaller schools are better than big ones.