Do you agree or disagree with the statements Children should not be allowed to play the video games

Because of technological advances, computer video games are a growing trend for entertainment. E-sports have become so popular that the Olympics committee recognized them as a sports activity. While a variety of computer games offer diverse entertainment not only for adults but also for children, children can be more vulnerable to the fierce excitement of games. Considering the possible negative effects of computer games, I agree that children should not be allowed to play computer video games that influence children’s physical and mental health.

First, video games are highly addictive for children, and it is hard for their parents to limit children to play video games. Even for adolescents who seem more mature than children, it is difficult to balance gaming and studying. Because childhood plays an important role to develop their healthy habit to decide on their own, parents need to assist them to avoid harmful influences. If children are obsessed with gaming, they tend to neglect study and sleep. Once they develop their addictions, it would get more hard to get rid of.

Second, playing video games harms children’s physical growth. The research shows that obesity rates have increased among children who play video games. Playing video games encourage children to be sedentary, which deprives them of physical activities. Although some games promote exercising in the players, children can suffer serious health consequences in the long-term. For example, gaming increases the risk of heart attack and leads to poor eyesight.

Third, some games involve violence, which can increase aggression in children. Exposed to violence in the games, children are more likely to numb to violence in reality because it is hard for children to distinguish the virtual and real world. Playing violent video games can cultivate violent tendencies of children, which also has sociocultural influences among adolescents. The violent culture can result in tragic incidents in the whole society such as domestic violence and gun shooting. To avoid those negative influences of video games, parents should be aware of what children are playing and watching. Despite such a significant role of parents, it seems almost impossible to limit what kinds of games children play on the internet once they are allowed to play computer games.

In conclusion, I agree that children should be prohibited from playing computer games because the games have detrimental effects on physical and mental health. Moreover, children influenced by violent games tend to imitate the aggressive behaviors of the game characters, which spreads violent culture in a whole society.