Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

Independence is am extremely vital quality to have in order to be successful in life. The passage above asks for an opinion whether an individual should gain independence from their parents as soon as possible or should live with them for a longer period of time. I believe that being independent and standing on your own feet as soon as possible is the way to go due to the following reasons.

Firstly, I believe that living with our parents limits us in innumerable ways. The way we take decisions, the way we deal with situations, the way we handle ourselves financially, everything is affected in some way or the other if we live with our parents. For instance, recently I came across a situation in my house, where our maid was not able to come and cook for us due to personal reasons. So in order to make food, my mother had to step up. But it was not that difficult for her because she already knows how to cook. Now imagine if I was living alone, I would have to be responsible for myself and learn how to cook for myself. In other words, I feel that living with parents makes us limit our scope of learning.

In addition to that, I believe that financial awareness is a huge factor to help us survive. Having financial knowledge is really important and it is a necessity to have knowledge about it. But I experienced a very challenging situation. Recently, as we all know, COVID-19 hit the world and thousands and thousands of people lost their jobs. My father was one of those unfortunate ones. He lost his job and hence, lost his primary source of income. But due to his financial intellect, there were other sources of income too, like investing in the stock market and mutual funds. He is independent enough to take care of his family and himself, even without a job. If I was in his place, I wouldn't be able to deal with this situation in such an impeccable manner. According to me, in order to learn how to deal with uncertainties and predicaments, living by youself is really important.

These examples, in a way, tell us how advantageous it is to live with our parents. But it is morally incorrect to do so. By coming into this world, it is our obligation to step up and take care of ourselves. The faster we become independent, the better it is for us and for our parents. It is unethical to live off of our parents' money and live in their apartments. Everybody requires privacy and it is not right for us to snatch our parents' freedom. I am not saying that living with your parents is wrong, but being totally dependent on them for our survival should not be our approach towards living life. After all, our parents want the best for us too and want us to be independent. We should gain independence as soon as possible and make our parents proud.