Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

A Costly Independence

Independence seems to be a very tempting idea to young adults, since they have been living for 18 years under the constant control of their parents to whose will they can legally defy now. However, it is utterly unwise for young adults to move out as soon as they turn 18, because independence without self-discipline and a stable income is merely a mirage and could only lead to a miserable life.

Every teenager’s dream is to become adult one day so that they can do whatever they fanc ywithout being intervened by their parents. But when they put some thought in to it, what they have fancied usually has nothing to do with being an adult. Such naïve thoughts might include being able to hang out till midnight, chasing the thrill of dangerous activities or anything that their parents may disapprove. It is true that independence could help to ensure the realization of these reckless fancies, though, being out of the reach of parental interference, most of these thoughts could easily set one’s life on a perilous course. The true meaning of independence, which demands self-discipline and sense of responsibility, often slips the young’s minds, as it usually takes a longer time to cultivate these virtues than to grow into adulthood.

If one is confident of one’s self-discipline, the ability to procure a stable income which can support a decent life is another factor that must be taken into account before rushing into independence. As it is deeply installed in our traditional view, young adults shouldn’t snuggle any more under their parents’ protective wings once they meet the conventional standards. And some of these would-be adults take pride in practicing this view to show the world that they are strong enough. Unfortunately, the real world will soon smash their arrogance into pieces, because few fresh graduates can confidently say they can live on their first-year salaries, providing they even have a job. This so-called independence the home-leaving proudly enjoy is in fact based on the financial aid from whom they desperately try to leave. This selfish act would not only increase a family’s burden financially, but also lower the standard of living for the young adult. If they truly believe independence is the requisite of adulthood, they must first understand what is behind the true meaning of it.

With so much being said, I am not against young people seeking independence. On the contrary, I encourage them to do so, only with a bit more self-discipline and a way to support themselves. After all, independence isn’t as simple as moving out, which is so obvious that every grown-up should understand.