Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other
young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations
do you think is better?
The role of a parent is to show the world to the children and to ready them for it. Then the time
comes when these young adults start to disembark on their own journeys. Some do it earlier,
some a bit later. I prefer the situation when one wants her independence as soon as possible.
Firstly, there is never going to be the perfect time. There is always going to be something why
one should stay with their parents - financials, relationships, someone to lean on. However, the
world is a hard place where survives the one who has all of the necessary skills. And some of
the skills are acquired with parents and some of them can only be found by themselves.
Secondly, many teenagers don’t have a very good relationship with their parents. Such
independence from them actually brings better understanding of each other and brings harmony
into the relationship. Thus parents can really become one’s friends and actually be heard when
the young adult is in time of need.
Thirdly, even after many years parents also need their own space. Of course they are parents,
but they are also people. People who want to spend time with just each other, who maybe want
to try something new, who want to go on a holiday and not worry about what is going on at
home. Because they believe in their children and in their journeys.
To sum up, I believe that young adults need their independence as soon as possible in order to
acquire all of the necessary world skills, to find the harmonious relationship with their parents
and for the parents themselves to have their own time with just each other.