Mobile apps help learn languages. To what extent do you agree?

With the growth of mobile apps’ popularity, we can observe the spread of new types of language learning practices. Although old-school methods, suggesting a tutor and course books, are still the choice of some, I believe that in the future there will be no place for outdated approach, and the mobile apps helping learn a language will be ubiquitous.

The argument against this is that not every age-segment can adapt to technological change, especially the elderly. They learn foreign languages in order to keep their mind clear and avoid dementia. Even though they try to keep up with new technological reality, for many of them it is still complicated to use mobile apps.

However, the industry of online education have been growing exponentially during several decades and has already demonstrated stellar results. There are plenty of new startups, which business models are fully focused on mobile apps as a main product for sale. For example, Coursearea is the worldwide popular app for online education and learning languages, and the local ones, such as LeanguaLeo, mainly known only in Russia. Thus, the market of mobile apps for languages has growing irrevocably.

Another reason, is that mobile apps can remarkably simplify the proccess of language learning. First of all, you can easily find any new unfamiliar word or do a quick research for any information just in five sec. Secondly, you can use mobile app, while you are in transport or in other not suitable for traditional education purposes locations. So, mobiles apps could significantly improve the whole proccess of studying.

In conclusion, it is hard to doubt, that mobile applications are widly used for practice languages. Although not every segment of people feel comfortable with them, we can not ommit the importance of mobile apps in terms of language learning.