Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

The passage says that some adults desire independence from parents as early as possible, while others want to live with parents for longer. The question asks us which of these situations is better. I think neither of situations is particularly better or worse. This is a broad and complicated question and the answer varies depending on various factors like financial condition of parents and the adult, health conditions of parents and children...etc

If financial condition of parents is not good and they cannot continue to support their children for any longer, then first situation would be desirable. For example, in my case, my father is retired and my mother does not work. In this case, in the absence of any source of income my parents cannot possibly support me in addition to themselves for much longer. So I got a job soon after my graduation and moved out my parents' house. Now I have my own house and I visit my parents every month. Both my parents and myself are happy.

Let's say the adult is not in a position to support themselves. In such a case, the child has no choice but to depend on their parents. For example, one of my friends could not get any job after his graduation and also they are interested in further studies. Their parents have a steady source of income from their family run oil bussinesses. The parents are willing to encourage their child's ambitions. So my friend got admitted in a grad school in the same city. The family is happily living together.

Apart from financial conditons, there are other factors that might determine which situation is desirable. One example would be health conditions. if the parents are considerably old and have various health conditions. In such cases, the children might want to stay back and take care of their parents instead of living seperately. This might even apply to children. If the child has a particular health condition which needs someone to take care of them, then the child would have to live with the parents even if they are adults.

So, many factors combinedly determine which situation is 'better'. It is not possible to give a general answer to this problem. The passage needs to give more information under which particular conditions they need us to determine which situation is better.