Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

Young adults often have to decide whether to live independently or still living with their families for a longer time. First of all, there is no “correct answer” because independence depends on both internal and external factors such as maturity, education, relationships, culture and finances surrounding young adults life.

Families should prepare children for the time when they need to be independent, but the reality is that parents often think that making their lives easier will bring them more happiness. So, when a teenager grows up without a sense of responsibility and maturity, being independent can be really difficult and unsustainable.

Either way, there are inherent advantages related to independent life and that’s the reason why most young adults wish to achieve this self-sustained status. Frequently, independence is a synonym of freedom. They won’t have to follow rules set by parents related to schedule, money, relationships or night outings. They won’t give explanations on their behavior or clothing as well, which could be seen as a superficial or spoiled criteria, but are the main reasons behind independence wishes of teenagers.

However, living independently also means that young adults will have to be responsible for their acts, time and money, they will have to find a job and support themselves. Also, they will need to acquire or improve skills related to housework and financial administration, which is also tedious and surprisingly hard to those young adults that usually lived without responsibilities at their houses.

As an example I can illustrate my experience. I graduated last year and I started to live alone. Immediately, a lot of duties and housework fall on my shoulders. I had to look for rent, plan my economy and restrict my schedule so I could go to work every day.

So, every person should judge if they are ready to cover their needs without depend on their parents or if they need more time to learn to be self-sufficient. When it comes to this point, one would definitely want to know their parents thinking and experience. Parents guidance and advising through this process can make a big difference.