Some people think that parents should plan their children’s leisure time carefully. Other people believe? those children should decide for themselves how to spend their free time, Which idea do you agree with? Give reasons for your choice.

There is a great debate about how much should parents influence children’s decisions, specially concerning to how do they spent their leisure time. In my opinion, children should decide on their own which hobbies and activities they will practice during free time, but I also think that parents should be smart enough to guide them for the right path.

First of all, hobbies are meant to be funny and pleasant activities, overall, for kids. Still, there is a chance for hobbies to be useful in order to identify skills and talents of the younger members of the family. For example, if a kid likes music and decide to play an instrument, that could be indicative of what he would do in the future. But, if parents push too hard for another activity like painting, children will never discover their real aptitudes.

Second, letting children choose their interests is a great way to learn responsibility. Since, kids very often make their mistakes unintentionally, they are prone to recognize something wrong if they are engaged and interested on it. I can cite my experience as an example: when I was younger I was a messy girl. I always forgot to prepare my bag, pencils and notebooks until I discover the painting workshop at my school. So, I was so excited about it that every night I prepared my stuffs for the next day because I didn’t wanted to miss my canvas and brushes. This way, I also equipped my bag for regular classes.

Third, children often enjoy activities that parents believe useless like electronic sports and video games. They are specially involved with technology so many of them will be attracted to computers and cells. Parents should respect this and understand that a hobby is something you really wanna do after homework and obligatory classes.

Once more, parents are authority figures that should provide enough possibilities to find out a variety of leisure activities, but without forcing them to the ‘good ones’ or ‘profitable ones’.