As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break 1 1 Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct conn

In the hectic college life, breaks between semesters are great opportunities for students to relax and to improve themselves in various ways. Some universities require students to enroll in a course that has no direct relationships with their majors; others encourage students to volunteer at the local communities in the universities’ city or their hometowns. In my opinion, having students volunteer in the universities’ city or their home cities is more beneficial for college students because it not only allows students to gain new skills and boost their social skills, but also release their stress and creates a positive mood.

Volunteering enables students to acquire new skills and improve social skills. Volunteer work requires skills that may not be required while studying at universities. By working on various projects and solving different problems, students are able to attain new skills and practical experiences, which could have a positive impact on their future careers. Volunteer work also involves people from different walks of life. Students are able to learn from those people and develop their social skills while interacting with them. In contrast, taking a course differing from a student’s major is less likely to provide them with practical experiences or new skills in a real-life setting. Since students mainly interact with their peers or professors, it does not help students improve their social skills as much. For example, one of my friends got a chance to volunteer at the local newspaper company last summer break. She learned how a newspaper company works and how to edit content properly before publishing. It also boosted her social skills, especially in interacting with editors, authors, and company managers. The skills she acquired in this experience played a significant role in helping her obtain her current job. Hence, volunteering benefits students more because it allows them to attain new skills and improve social skills.

Another benefit that volunteering has is that it can counteract the effects of stress and boost mood. While people are helping others, they forget about their issues but only focus on others’ problems. Participating in volunteer work also allows people to form meaningful connections with other individuals, which reduces volunteers’ stress as well. In addition, by measuring brain activities and hormones, researchers at PeKing University discovered that humans feel immense pleasure while helping others. Thus, providing service to others can boost mood. On the contrary, studying a new subject during breaks is unlikely to be stress-relieving. Instead, it may cause more pressure since it entails hard work to pass the course. It does not have much positive effect on students’ mood either since it may produce pressure for passing the course. For instance, my sister was able to volunteer at the local nursing home this past winter break. She expressed that going to the nursing home was the most effective way for her to release her stress. Through interacting with and caring for the older people, she became more loving, and her days were filled with happiness. She told me that she would volunteer there whenever she could even during semesters. Thus, volunteering can reduce stress and elevate mood.

In sum, volunteering provides opportunities for students to acquire new skills and enhance social skills. It can also reduce stress and improve one’s mood. Due to these two reasons, it is more beneficial for students at universities to volunteer in their hometown or the city where their universities are located.