As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break. (选1)

1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary children with their homework.)

Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why?

With the rapid development of the society, intelligent graduates as well as youngsters with volunteer experience during collage are being required. This phenomenon facilitates a number of universities to make relevant courses about both directions. Thus, a heated debate raises: whether students should take a subject which is not closely related to their major, or they should volunteer to work for their school or own hometown. Although people are almost the fan of the latter idea, I advocate the former one for the following reasons.

First and foremost, taking courses on other subjects can inspire students’ interest to a different yet unfamiliar field, which may indirectly benefit them in their major study. As is known to all, the more knowledge you know, the wider and deeper comprehensive about your major you will have, for knowledge is not fixed a stone. This is because people can consider a problem from many perspectives, using knowledge from several fields. An illustrating example is my brother Jackson, a student majoring in modern arts, who was required to learn Japanese in the long break before collage. At first he was unwilling to learn a language as it seems useless for his major. However, thanks to his foundation in Japanese, he was able to understand some complex concepts put by Japanese artist easily, as their theories are well-known around the art world, which save him much time spending on the meaning of the words.

Another point worth mentioning is that students can get motivated to devote themselves to their coming study life. There is no doubt that university is a heaven for most students to pursue their academic dreams. Nevertheless, the number of students who still indulge in their summer holiday without thinking about a practical plan about their study is increasing. It is not hard to imagine if they embrace their new collage life in this lazy way, numerous time will be wasted due to their lack of enthusiastic and conscious. Whereas things will become totally different provided that they are asked to take some courses, which can stimulus students to prepare for the new semester actively with full energy.

Admittedly, being a volunteer in student’s own hometown or the university’s city can boost their awareness morally by them contributing their part as a gratitude to society. However, sufficient attention should be paid more to the academic function of the university, which is of vital importance in one’s whole life.

To put it into a nutshell, there is no excuse for universities not to request students to take courses on subjects beside their own majors with respect to the necessities I listed above. I hold a strong believe that more students will benefit enormously in the long run.